SESAR Young Scientist – Hall of fame

Launched in 2012, the SESAR Young Scientist Award aims to recognise young scientists, who have demonstrated excellence in ATM and aviation-related research fields. The award also provides researchers starting out in their career with an opportunity for further professional development. A further objective of the award is to showcase the potential of young talent to formulate fresh ideas and solutions to the challenges facing ATM and aviation. 

The award contest is open to any scientist (Batchelor, Master or PhD) working in the abovementioned fields and who are citizens or residents in an EU Member State or an Associated Country to the Horizon2020 Research and Development Framework Programme (H2020).

Find out more about past winners!


Philippe Monmousseau at the ENAC Academy in France secured the PhD award; and Chen Xia, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, become the first undergraduate to win 

Read more


Christian Eduardo Verdonk Gallego, 2020 winner is an ATM R&D Engineer at CRIDA A.I.E. & Coordinator for FARO – a SESAR JU exploratory research project.

Read more


Junzi Sun, 2019 winner of the SESAR Young Scientist Award is now Assistant Professor at Technische Universiteit Delft. Sun was awarded the Award for his research on open aircraft performance modelling

Read more about Junzi

Gianluca Di Flumeri won the award in 2018 for a ground-breaking method for evaluating controllers’ mental workload using brain activity measurements.

Read more about Gianluca’s research

Former SESAR Young Scientist, Ramon Dalmau-Codina, PhD., is ow a data scientist at EUROCONTROL, and is listed by Forbes as one of the #30Under30 to watch Read about Ramon's profile 

Read interview with 2017 winner


2015 winner, Floris Herrema, whose work helps to enhance the understanding of the behaviour of aircraft on final approach. It has a direct impact on the safety of time-based separation (TBS), as deployed at Heathrow Airport, as well as the RECAT 2 reduction in wake vortex separation between pairs of aircraft on final approach.

Read more about Floris’ research


Manuel Soler, winner of the 2013 award for his work on ‘Commercial Aircraft Trajectory Optimization based on Multiphase Mixed Integer Optimal Control’, who will explain how his career has evolved since winning the award. Soler is now Associate Professor at University Carlos III of Madrid in topics related to ATM. He is also coordinating two SESAR JU exploratory projects.

Read more about Manuel’s current research within the SESAR programme
ysa soler
Sergio Ruiz, SESAR Young Scientist Award 2012 winner is now at EUROCONTROL working in the ATM research, innovation and validation domain ruiz


Watch this webinar with some of the winners