

POLICY ON THE USE OF LANGUAGES AT THE SESAR 3 JOINT UNDERTAKING

The purpose of this policy is to provide the audience with relevant information on the use of languages at the SESAR 3 Joint Undertaking¹.

This policy is available in all of the 24 official languages of the European Union².

This policy is a reasonable balance between respect for speakers of the EU's many languages pursuant to the applicable legislation, obligations placed on institutions and their bodies and practical considerations such as the cost of translation.

Any content and documents created by and in the context of the SESAR 3 Joint Undertaking's activities are drafted in English, as this is the globally acknowledged working and vehicular language in the field of international aviation and air traffic management research.

In light of this the SESAR 3 Joint Undertaking's documents and other communications including but not limited to documents and content published on the SESAR 3 Joint Undertaking's web site, on social media (YouTube, LinkedIn and Twitter) and communications during events are in English.

Upon request, the SESAR 3 Joint Undertaking can provide content and documents translated in one of the 24 official languages. However, please note that translation procedures require time and this may result in a longer-than-expected response time for such requests.

R. frien

Richard Frizon Executive Director *ad interim*



¹ In compliance with the Treaties of the European Union and its functioning, the Charter of fundamental rights of the European Union and the Council Regulation No 1 of 15 April 1958 determining the languages to be used by the European Economic Community², the European Institutions, their Agencies and Bodies shall:

⁻ communicate with the EU citizens in their own languages,

⁻ protect Europe's rich linguistic diversity, and

⁻ promote language learning in Europe.

² Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish