SESAR Scientific Committee kicks off

Feb. 24, 2017

The first meeting of the newly composed SESAR 2020 Scientific Committee took place on 14 and 15 February 2017 in Brussels, bringing together nine independent and highly-regarded academics from across Europe and the aviation research domain, as well as observers from the European Commission, Eurocontrol and the SESAR Programme Committee.

During SESAR 2020, the Committee will provide scientific advice and recommendations to the SESAR Joint Undertaking Executive Director, with a particular focus on exploratory research, long-term planning activities and on the transfer of knowledge and outcomes to industrial research activities. The Committee shall additionally provide scientific-related support on how to ensure and help promote appropriate research and innovation in the SESAR 2020 programme including the preparation of the SESAR Innovation Days and the awarding of scientific prizes.

 “The Scientific Committee is an important platform to ensure that our research programme and results are technically and scientifically sound. In particular, I will count on the support of the committee members in looking beyond our current horizon and formulating the vision for future ATM research,” said Florian Guillermet, Executive Director, SESAR Joint Undertaking.

During the meeting, which was chaired by David Bowen, Chief of ATM at the SJU,  the committee members all expressed their appreciation for the opportunity to contribute to the work of the SESAR Joint Undertaking and lend their expertise to making SESAR 2020 a success.

SESAR 2020 Scientific Committee

  • Peter Hecker, University of Braunschweig
  • Christopher  Johnson, University of Glasgow
  • Andrew Cook, University of Westminster
  • Francisco Javier Saez Nieto, University of Cranfield
  • Vojin Tosic , formerly of University of Belgrade
  • Henk Blom, Netherlands Aerospace Centre
  • Patrizia Marti, University of Siena
  • Rita Markovits-Somogyi, HungaroControl
  • Juan Besada, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid

 External observers - SESAR 2020 Scientific Committee

  • Torsten Klimke, European Commission, DG MOVE
  • Colin Meckiff, Eurocontrol
  • Alison Roberts, 2020 Programme Committee representative