Call for contributions to the 8th SESAR Innovation Days

May. 7, 2018

Inspiring long-term research in the field of Air Traffic Management

During the week of 3-7 December 2018, hosted by University of Salzburg, Salzburg, Austria

About SESAR Innovation Days

The SESAR Innovation Days (SIDs) are the main vehicle for SESAR Joint Undertaking to share progress and disseminate results of its exploratory research programme. Unlike other scientific events in Air Traffic Management (ATM) research, the SESAR Innovation Days focus explicitly on exploratory research.  Now in its eighth year, the SESAR Innovation Days have become a landmark event in the European aviation research calendar. This year’s event will be further strengthened with the support of Engage, the new SESAR Knowledge Transfer Network.

The SIDs 2018 will be hosted by Hosted by University of Salzburg, Austria, during the week of 3-7 December. The main conference will take place from 4-6 December and will showcase results from European exploratory research. The SIDs are based on an open call soliciting contributions from ATM research. An exhibition, keynote conference and networking events will provide further opportunities to learn about other interesting projects and meet like-minded researchers.

On the 7 of December, against the background of the EU Austrian Presidency, we will be hosting site visits to aviation organisations and institutes within the vicinity of Salzburg. More information on these site visits will be provided in due course. Please note that some of the site-visits may take place in Vienna and therefore, return travel from Vienna airport is recommended.

Call for contributions

Researchers from universities, research institutions, airlines, air traffic service providers and industry are invited to submit papers (up to 8 pages) presenting exploratory research within the areas of interest listed below. Papers will be evaluated based on the innovative nature of the ideas, as well as the approach and methods applied.

Areas of interest include:

  • Safety and security in a highly automated environment
  • Automation, robotics and autonomy
  • Human factors and decision support tools
  • Designing resilient ATM systems
  • Uncertainty, applied modelling and optimization techniques
  • Communications, navigation and surveillance (CNS) technical enablers
  • Complexity, data science and information management
  • Application of economics to facilitate a paradigm shift in ATM
  • Enabling change, including legal and regulatory aspects and the ATM innovation process
  • Innovative approaches in environment and meteorology
  • Remotely-piloted aerial systems
  • ATM operations, architecture and performance
  • Optimised ATM network management
  • High performing airport operations
  • Advanced air traffic services

All papers (including SESAR contributions) will be peer-reviewed to ensure that high standards are maintained. The proceedings will be available for download in electronic form on both the event website and SJU website prior to the event. All SIDs papers are listed in Elsevier’s Scopus database.

Call for posters and demonstrations

Partners from academia and industry are invited to submit proposals for posters (max 2 posters per subject) and technical exhibits or demonstrations. As well as showing innovative solutions to traditional problems of air traffic management, posters and demonstrations may also address wider air transport and air traffic issues. Proposals of one to two pages shall be submitted with a detailed description of the subject matter.

Paper, Poster and Demonstration submission deadline: 5 October  2018

Notification of acceptance: 09 November 2018


General Chair

David Bowen – SESAR JU

Programme Chair

Dirk Schaefer – EUROCONTROL

Local Organisation Chair

Carl-Herbert Rokitansky – University of Salzburg

Programme Committee

Rosa Arnaldo – UPM

Léa Bodossian – Airport Regions Conference

Marc Bourgois – EUROCONTROL

Lorenzo Castelli – University of Trieste

Andrew Cook – University of Westminster

Francesca De Crescenzio – University of Bologna

Daniel Delahaye – ENAC

Peter Hecker, TU Braunschweig

Jacco Hoekstra – TU Delft

Gokhan Inalhan – ITU Istanbul

Christopher Johnson – University of Glasgow

Radosav Jovanovic – University of Belgrade

Dirk Kuegler – DLR

Bruno Lamiscarre – ONERA

Javier Lopez – Boeing R&T Europe

Guglielmo Lulli – University of Lancaster

Max Mulder – TU Delft

Eric Nantier – Swiss

David Perez – Innaxis

Hans Plets – Belgocontrol

Simone Pozzi – Deep Blue

Jose Javier Ramasco – IFISC

Damián Rivas – University of Seville

Sander Roosendaal – Honeywell Aerospace

Francisco Javier Saez – Cranfield University

Georg Trausmuth – Frequentis




Salzburg Congress Centre